Post # 23 Retracing The Route From Solon To Monticello Today

   Today (May 18th 2008)  was a beautiful day for a ride in the car so we drove to Solon to try and firm up how far I would attempt to walk each day as well as places  to spend some of the nights. 

   note to self:  I need to get in touch with someone in Solon to see if there is a B and B locally or something similar  From Solon to Mt Vernon it is approx. 10.5 miles.  I already have an offer to spend the night in Mt Vernon by a friends’ mom.  If I leave Iowa City on Monday, that would put me in Mt Vernon Tuesday night.

From Mt Vernon to Martelle it is 6.9 miles.    We might have some type of small reception when I get to Martelle…If I left by 8 AM that should put me in Martelle by 10:30   Martelle has a historical marker for Dillon’s Furrow. 

     From Martelle to the East Edge of Anamosa  (through Fairvew)  it is 8.9 miles.  (That would be a Wednesday night)…I am thinking of staying @ the Super 8 motel that night….unless between now and September I find out about a B and B in Anamosa or stay with some friends that live in Anamosa…we’ll see….

    From Anamosa to the edge of Langworthy it is 6.2 Miles  Hannah B. who teaches an Alternative High School program locally, approached me last year about  having her class join me when I get to this point in the walk.  There is an original portion of Military road just East of Langworthy in a farmer’s pasture  It is also the  location where the husband and wife and infant got caught in a blizzard  (last name of Wade) leaving behind 10 children.

     If I get a good start Thursday morning from  Anamosa I could get to this point in the walk late morning, give a presentation to the class  and finish the day on the East side of Monticello…staying at a local B and B. (Thursday night) 

    If someone happens to read this before September 2008 and has any suggestions for lodging in the Solon area…please let me know. !  Thanks

2 comments on “Post # 23 Retracing The Route From Solon To Monticello Today

  1. dougiefresh27 says:

    I love your idea of walking this distance. Now I do not have any specific places for you to stay each night but rather a suggestion. If you contact your church, they could probably be able to contact other members in those communities. They would create places for you to stay. You could be in someones home and share and exchange knowledge and stories instead of doing this as an isolated group.

    Good luck on this quest.

    Peace,

    Douglas

  2. Sandy Hanson says:

    Doug, I am one of the folks from Solon that greeted you on your walk. You mentioned to us that the DAR had plaques along the route and suggested we apply for one. Ruby Jedlicka has done that but we need validation that the route truly went through Solon. Do you have anything that might help us verify this fact. Would appreciate your help – and thanks! Sandy

Leave a comment